The Ephron Effect

Such a great tribute to Nora Ephron!

Culture Nugget

Even though we’re four decades apart and never got the chance to meet, Nora Ephron has left a huge impact on my life. I was 10 or 11 the first time I watched When Harry Met Sally, and though I didn’t entirely get all of the dialogue, I loved what the movie represented. I liked the idea of two people ending up together, despite the odds. I studied the witty banter and wondered how I could ever possibly find a male companion I could talk to like that.


It was later, in a high school film class when I realized how amazing Ephron actually was: she was an A-list writer, director and producer in a male-dominated industry. And though she was crafting chick flicks, the heroines in her stories didn’t fall flat. Sally, Annie and Julia all seemed like strong women I could relate to. She was proof to me…

View original post 130 more words

Leave a Reply

