Coraline is a magical trip. I’m still recovering.


I may have experienced my very first acid trip last night.
Thank you, Henry Selick- you have succeeded in altering my reality.

God, I so needed that.

Coraline is amazing. Why?
Stop-motion animation…or should I say stop-motion surrealism?

I’ll leave it up to you but, regardless of what you might call this instant classic, it is consistently entertaining.

The visuals are marvelous enough to hold up on their own.
I’m not entirely sure I needed to see this in 3-D… I may not have made it back to the other side.

Selick’s adaptation of Neil Gaiman’s book is incredibly thorough. The characters in this alterna-universe are expressive, complex and easy to empathize with. I must confess, I’m a bit of a sucker for stories about misunderstood little girls, having been one myself.

Oh, who am I kidding? I still am… and I have no problem identifying with Coraline Jones.

I’d like to extend a special thank you to my favorite British comedy queens Jennifer Saunders (Absolutely Fabulous) and Dawn French for adding their signature blend of neurotic goofiness…
well done ladies!

Today may be the last day to catch Coraline so get to the cinema early!
After all, you don’t want to miss Hugh Jackman make a complete fool of himself at the Oscars this evening.

Leave a Reply

