Weekend Sampler.


I’m going to the drive-in tonight; It’s a toss-up between “The Simpsons Movie” or “Chuck & Larry”.
I know…tough one.

I’m long overdue for a visit and my knee has decided it doesn’t want me to walk much today, so, drive-in it is.

But, if I could spread myself around a bit, I would be at the following places this evening:

Upstate for:
“Manufactured Landscapes”
A film by Canadian born Jennifer Baichwal featuring photography by internationally acclaimed photographer and Canadian hot-shot (pun intended), Edward Burtynsky.
It’s been called a lot of things: stunning, striking, thought-provoking- you know, the basic adjectives reviewers like to throw around.
But I hear it’s not a politcal film?
hmmmmmmm……

when?
Sat. 4:30 & 6:50
Sun. 5:50 & 8:10

Wait!
There’s more…

Paramount Center for the Arts is showing “Stephanie Daley”.
Directed by Hilary Brougher, it shows tonight @ 8pm and tomorrow @ 3pm.

If you didn’t catch it’s Valley premier at Upstate back in May (along with the Q & A) this is the perfect time to go.
Feeling the pressure?
Good.

Aside from being a compelling story, “S.D.” features gorgeous cinematography courtesy of the fabulous David Rush Morrison who I absolutely adore. Morrison has shot more than several independents along with a handful of music videos for artists including Lenny Kravitz, Wu Tang Clan, Plastilina Mosh, and Radiohead.
The film also features a remarkable cast:
Amber Tamblyn, Timothy Hutton, Melissa Leo, Dennis O’Hare and Jim Gaffigan.

Leave a Reply

